The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Ofstad, Best share Indianhead Player of the Year


ASHLAND, Wis. — Hurley senior Sam Ofstad and Drummond senior Bethany Best shared the Indianhead Conference Player of the Year honors in girls basketball.

Ofstad was named the East Division Player of the Year and Best the top player in the West Division. Coaches then determined an overall player of the year in the conference and Ofstad and Best share that award.

Ofstad played four years for the Midgettes and led this year’s East Division champions to a 20-4 record as one of just two seniors.

Making the East Division First Team were: Ofstad, Hurley’s Makayla Wolfe, Ironwood’s Korrie Trier, Mellen’s Meg Ellias and Paige Young.

On the Second Team were: Bessemer’s Sarah Trudgeon, Mercer’s Lexi Engler, Hurley’s Kayla Subert and Natalie Moon and Mellen’s Kylea Hoff. Engler was fourth in Wisconsin in scoring at 22 points per game, according to

Three South Shore players made the West Division First Team — Megan Gustafson, Emily Gustafson and Janice Anderson. Megan Gustafson led the state in scoring at 30.9 per game, Emily Gustafson was the top rebounder at 17.7 per game and Anderson was tops in assists at 7.9 a game, according to

Hurley’s Melissa Oja was Coach of the Year in the East Division.

All-Indianhead Conference

Conference Players of the Year: Sam Ofstad, Hurley and Bethany Best, Drummond

East Division

Player of the Year: Sam Ofstad, Hurley, senior

Coach of the Year: Melissa Oja, Hurley

First Team

Sam Ofstad, Hurley, senior

Meg Ellias, Mellen, junior

Makayla Wolfe, Hurley, sophomore

Paige Young, Mellen, sophomore

Korrie Trier, Ironwood, senior

Second Team

Sarah Trudgeon, Bessemer, junior

Lexi Engler, Mercer, sophomore

Kayla Subert, Hurley, junior

Kylea Hoff, Mellen, senior

Natalie Moon, Hurley, sophomore

Honorable mention

Arianna Huber, Mellen, senior

Kirkie Pecotte, Hurley, sophomore

Lauren Grace, Wakefield-Marenisco, freshman

Kelsey Meinke, Bessemer, senior

Emily DiGiorgio, Ironwood, freshman

Jessica Gering, Ironwood, junior

West Division

Player of the Year: Bethany Best, Drummond, senior

Coach of the Year: Corey Sackman, Drummond

First Team

Bethany Best, Drummond, senior

Megan Gustafson, South Shore, sophomore

Emily Gustafson, South Shore, senior

Janice Anderson, South Shore, junior

Christina Wickingson, Drummond, senior

Second Team

Shania Leaske, Bayfield, senior

Autumn Blaylock, Solon Springs, junior

Kierstyn Fibert, Washburn, junior

Paige Vernon, Washburn, junior

Victoria Gokee-Rindal, Bayfield, senior

Honorable mention

Sophie Olson, Washburn, senior

Mackenzie Hirtreiter, Butternut, senior

Miranda Wickman, Drummond, junior


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 06/16/2018 14:07