The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

DiGiorgio, Corullo help Hurley get revenge on Shiocton - sort of


Jason Juno/Daily Globe

Colin DiGiorgio of Hurley makes the Hurley Quarterback Club Golf Tournament winning putt during a playoff on the first hole at Eagle Bluff Friday.

HURLEY - Hurley football got a bit of revenge on Shiocton Friday.

Well, on the golf course anyway.

Colin DiGiorgio and Ross Corullo of Hurley beat father-and-son Jim and Jason Hill in a one-hole playoff at Eagle Bluff for their first Hurley Quarterback Club Golf Touranment title.

While Jim is an Iron Belt native, Jason is a 2000 graduate of Shiocton, whose football team defeated Hurley in the state semifinal last season on its way to a state title. Jason follows both teams.

"I was with coach Scotty (Erickson) and that's what I told him. I said, 'We're taking down Shiocton," DiGiorgio said.

Erickson, Hurley's football coach, laughed at Friday's small victory for Hurley.

"That's OK, too," he said. "But Jimmy and Jason have been great supporters of us all the way through here. Congratulations to Colin and Ross. That's a hell of a round, 8 under. Colin's a big supporter at the Iron Nugget and Ross, too, at Action Floors."

Both teams ended the day with a 63 and needed a playoff to determine the winner. They went to the first hole where DiGiorgio made a 7-foot putt for par, while the Hills weren't in position to make par.

"We didn't do very good on the drive," DiGiorgio said. "They always say, putt for dough, drive for show. It worked out for us. It was just a little left edge and she went in."

The Hills also lost a playoff in 2011, to Marco Gotta and Joe Brown.

The money raised from the program's biggest fundraiser goes to support the Hurley football program. Football players decked out in their jerseys greeted golfers on several holes. Some out of towners talked about attending the semifinal against Shiocton in Schofield. Others were preparing to go to the week one game against Shell Lake.

"It was a good tournament for our kids today," Erickson said. "This is what funds our stuff, our extras. The school can't do it all. This is a big deal for us to have our kids here and show their support and thank yous and for us to be able to maintain the quality of our program."

The Quarterback Club helps with a number of things, including allowing Hurley to have more coaches.

"I tell you what, our kids are treated first class because we get weight room equipment, we get all kinds of extras that wouldn't be possible if we didn't have that," Erickson said.

Practice starts on Aug. 5. The scrimmage is on Aug. 15 at Hurley with Chequamegon, Ashland and Hayward coming. The first game is Aug. 22 at Shell Lake.

"We're excited for the year," Erickson said. "We think we're going to have some good kids coming in this year and we're ready to keep it rolling."

Championship huddle

1. Colin DiGiorgio and Ross Corullo, Hurley, 63 (won playoff); 2. Jim and Jason Hill, 63; 3. Jeremy and Cory Wicklund, 65.

First huddle

1. Mick Herrala and Paul Pretti, 72; 2. Ralph Ansami and Darin Saari, 72; 3. Marty Lipske and Dale Volkman 72.

Second huddle

1. Jeff Scandin and Matt King, 74; 2. Ray Kallas and Jerry Olson, 74; 3.Paul Harma and Bart Innes, 75.

Third huddle

1. Bunter Hewitt and Glen Miller, 78; 2. Mike and Bert Saari, 78; 3. Duane Harma and Pat O'Brien, 78.

Fourth huddle

1. Bill Richie and Jim Trcka, 81; 2. Steve Harma and Jerry Rice, 81; 3. Larry Barnabo and Mark Sargent, 81.

Fifth huddle

1. John and Jay Aijala, 83; 2. Larry Kutz and Jeff Nevala, 83; 3. Josh Kretschmar and Tony Saari, 83.

Tournament champions

2013: Cory Wicklund and Jeremy Wicklund

2012: Jack Croci and Tim Steiger

2011: Marco Gotta and Joe Brown

2010: Croci and Steiger

2009: Jeff Gulan and Trinity Dimich

2008: Ralph Ansami and Darin Saari

2007: Shawn Erickson and Steve Sorenson

2006: Peter Erickson and Kyle Johnson

2005: Croci and Steiger

2004: Croci and Steiger

2003: Tom Innes and Ray O'Dea

2002: Scott Erickson and Todd Erickson

2001: Chad Brakke and Dave Lundin

2000: Tim Peterson and Bob Sertich

1999: Tony Gheller Sr. and Tony Gheller Jr.

1998: Rheba Mabie and Ray Mousel


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 06/18/2018 00:51