The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

White Thunder Riders hosts grass drags


Miranda Anderson/Daily Globe

BRETT ANDERSON competes in the "Loud Pipes" contest at the third annual vintage grass drags held at the Iron County Fairgrounds Saturday evening. His snowmobile was registered in the "retro" class.

SAXON, Wis. - The White Thunder Riders Snowmobile Club held its third annual vintage grass drags at the Iron County Fairgrounds Saturday.

"We just decided to do a racing event and there are a lot of vintage competitions throughout the Midwest," said member Joe Olson.

Besides the snowmobile races on grass, other events included an ATV pull, live music and a 50/50 raffle. Refreshments were served by the Iron County Fire Department and 4-H Club.

"Fifty-nine machines competed in 16 different classes," Olson said. "We had more racers this year than any other year, so that's a move in the right direction."

Competing classes included a youth class, 1983 and older "retro" class, and mini 120s stock class. All classes received trophies for first and second place.

A "Pretty in Pink" class was also featured as a fundraiser for breast cancer awareness. All proceeds from the race were donated to cancer research programs.

"We had a decent crowd," Olson said.

The White Thunder Riders are a volunteer club that works to maintain the snowmobile trails in northern Iron County.

For more information, visit

Results included:

Twin stock fan 321-410cc: 1. Shane Hoffman, 2. Jeff Crom.

Twin stock liquid 411-510CC: 1. Bri Oenning, 2. Dennis Pease.

Triple Mod Liquid 0-500cc: 1. Brad Trangsrud.

Twin Mod Free-Air 411-510cc: 1. Luke Lewandonski.

Youth 120 stock class: 1. Carter Vuorenmaa.

Single Cylinder Mod 0-300cc: 1. David Johnson.

Single Cylinder Mod 301-up cc: 1. Maureen Wick.

Single Stock Fan – 0-300: 1. Shane Hoffman, 2. Bri Oenning.

Single Stock Fan 301-up cc: 1. Kylar Hoffman, 2. Brian Hoffman.

Twin Stock Free Air 321-410cc: 1. Luke Lewandonski, 2. Jim Robleski.

Twin Mod Free Air 321-410cc: 1. Dustin Hautala, 2. Richard Strand.

Twin Mod Fan 511-up cc: 1. Maureen Wick .

Retro 1 0-500cc: 1.Jon Starnes, 2. Steve Wick.

Juniors 0-300 cc: 1. Jared Olson, 2. Evert Halverson.

Juniors Single Cylinder: 1. Kyle Broeniman.

Twin Stock Free Air 0-300cc: 1. Katie Korpela.

Youth 120cc Mod: 1. Braeden Jarrett, 2. Carter Vuorenmaa.

Retro 2 501-700cc: 1. Dan Klejeski, 2. Joel Fellbaum.

Twin Stock Fan 411-510cc: 1. Bri Oenning, 2. Shane Hoffman

Twin Stock Liquid 321-410cc: 1. Dustin Hautala, 2. Luke Lewandonski.

Twin Stock Free Air 411-510 cc: 1. Dave Strand, 2. Dennis Pease.

Retro 3 701-up cc: 1. Chris Sturm, 2. Jon Starnes.

Vintage Snowmobile Show

Class A 1970-OLDER: 1. Mark Bluse – 1969 Polaris Colt , 2. Doug Westenberger – 1969 Ski Doo Olympic.

Class B 1971-1974: 1. Bill Stutz – 1973 Chaparral firebird, 2. Tom Olson – 1974 Johnson JX650.

Class C 1975-1979: 1. Chris Sturm – 1976 Polaris TX, 2. Greg Basom – 1978 Yamaha SSR.

Class D 1980-Newer: 1. Bill Beyer – 1980 John Deere Liquifire, 2. Bill Beyer – 1980 John Deere Sprint Fire .

Best of Show

Greg Basom – 1978 Yamaha SSR 440

Oldest Sled

1. Jared Olson – 1965 Bolens Hus-Ski 600 2. Matt VanTuyl – 1967 Sno-bug

Furthest distance traveled

1. Paul Vilwok – 193 miles 2. Brian & Lee Ann Gerbovanec- 169 miles

Loud Pipes Contest: 1. Jim Martindale – Ski Doo RV, 2. Rich Strand – Polaris TXL, 3. Maureen Wick – Rupp Nitro.

ATV Mud Run

2 wheel drive class: 1. Chris Tijan – Artic Cat, 2. Kamryn Lee - Yamaha.

4 wheel drive 0-500: 1. Jen Cvengros – Arctic Cat.

4 wheel drive 501-up: 1. Chris Tijan – Artic Cat, 2. Kamryn Lee – Yamaha.

UTV 501-up cc: 1. Casey Swartz – Polaris RZR, 2. Jeff Swartz – Arctic Cat.

Ladies "Pink Race" (a fundraiser for breast cancer): Race winner – Katie Korpela, Crowd appeal – Kathy Olson, Most money raised: Kathy Olson.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017