Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Steiger, Erickson win soggy Battle of the Bluff

HURLEY –Tim Steiger of Bessemer and Scott Erickson of Hurley slogged through some very wet playing conditions on Sunday and shot a 139 total to win the Championship Flight in this weekend’s Battle of the Bluff golf tournament at the Eagle Bluff Golf Club.

“It was really hard,” Steiger said. “The course was good, but the fairways were real wet.”

Golfers said there were periods of hard rain during their rounds on the final day.

Erickson and Steiger shot a two-over par 72 on Sunday with birdies on the eighth and seventeenth holes, but Erickson said there was another key to their win.

“We made some real good scrambling pars,” he said. “And if one guy didn’t play well on a hole, the other guy picked him up and played well.”

The golf tournament is a two-man best ball format that offers two days of golf in several flight groups, including a senior division for golfers 62 and older.

When the team bogeyed the 16th hole, Steiger said he was a little worried about their lead.

“But then Scott made a long 30 foot putt on 17,” Steiger said. “And then we heard the best team in was at 140, so we just needed to par 18.”

Saturday’s weather conditions were much more appealing to the golfers and Erickson and Steiger were the medalists by firing a 67.

Mitch Horn and Joe Pontbriand carded the lowest round on Sunday with an excellent 69 and finished second in the Championship Flight.

Jim Litwatis blasted the longest drive on No. 4 and J.J. Henderson and Dan Bsasom had the longest drives on No. 7 and No. 17 respectively.

Skip Lombardo and Todd Erickson showed pinpoint accuracy as they were closest to the pin on holes No. 5 and No. 10.

According to Eagle Bluff golf professional, Dennis Soderman, 104 golfers from all over the Midwest played in the tournament.

Justin Reid and Jarred Reid were last year’s champions.

Championship Flight

1. Tim Steiger-Scott Erickson (67-72-139), 2. Mitch Horn-Joe Pontbriand (71-69-140), 3. Jeff Gulan-Trinty Dimich (70-73-143).

First Flight

1. Vinney Kasper-Jerry Hendrickson (75-77-152), 2. Tyler Leskela and Casey Barto (75-77-152), 3. Jeff Tenlen-Lee Leinon (76-78-154).

Second Flight

1. Roman Tauer-Oz Osterman (81-80-161), 2. Don Basom-Daniel Basom (83-81-164), 3. Pat Nemic-Josh Bamick( 81-83-164).

Third Flight

1. Jack Fiamoncini-Rick Alonen (90-84-174), 2. Mick Holmes-Matt King (92-83-175), 3. Dustin Basom-Sean Vernetti (93-84-177).

Senior Flight

1. Jim Litwatis-Jack Woodall (79-78-157), 2. Wally Bruneau-Tim Peterson (83-75-158), 3. Jack Giovanoni-Darryl Johnson (79-83-162).

Rendered 02/27/2024 21:40