Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

GCC president Lorenson named to state legislative committee

IRONWOOD - Gogebic Community College President James Lorenson was recently named to the Michigan Community College Association Legislative Committee to a two-year position.

There are 12 members on the committee, which includes six presidents and six trustees.

According to the release, "Committee membership, per MCCA bylaws, is determined by the appointment of the chair of MCAA, with concurrence of the MCCA Executive Committee."

The committee seeks a good balance of small and large, urban and rural, and northern and southern representation, to reflect all community colleges in Michigan.



Committee members are expected to stay up to date on Gongwer, Michigan's Daily Report that covers every bill in the Legislature and closely tracks the branches of government, to stay current with Capitol news.

They are also asked to read and analyze bills, participate in weekly hour-long strategy calls when the Legislature is in session, and participate as needed in individual calls and meetings with legislators, the executive branch and other stakeholders.

Committee members may also testify at hearings.

They advise MCCA staff about political committee expenditures and cultivate a working knowledge of the legislative process, time line and participants. This includes reviewing and approving minutes from legislative committee calls.

Lorenson joins committee presidents:

-Chair Tim Nelson, Northwestern Michigan College.

-Dan Phelan, Jackson College.

-Steve Ender, Grand Rapids Community College.

-Conway Jeffress, Schoocraft College.

-Cameron Brunet-Koch, North Central Michigan College.


-Vice Chair Doug Jacobson, Mid-Michigan Community College.

-Tom Butch, Bay College.

-Mike Ennis, West Shore Community College.

-John Ogden, St. Clair County Community College.

-Robert Proctor, Lansing Community College.

-Diana McKnight-Morton, Washtenaw Community College.

-Alissa Pietila