The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Firefighters, first responders honored with Ironwood ceremony


June 2, 2018

Ralph Ansami

RANDY FORSTROM, left, of Beacon Ambulance, accepts an award for quick response to the February fire that killed three people in downtown Ironwood. Also shown from left are city commissioners Rick Semo and Kim Corcoran and Ironwood Public Safety Department Director Greg Klecker. Katie Nelson and Dennis Powell, both of Beacon, were singled out for awards.

IRONWOOD - Presentation of a lifesaving award to Ironwood Public Safety Department Fire Marshal Brandon Snyder concluded a Friday ceremony honoring first responders of the Feb. 21 fatal fire at 102-104 Aurora St.

Snyder was honored for personally pulling two people to safety out of second and third story windows in apartments of the burning building.

Killed in the fire were Mark Arnold Verrette, 57; Patrick James Somerville, 51, and Levi Dean Watkins, 27.

In addition to firefighters and IPSD officers, Mayor Annette Burchell and city commissioners honored businesses and organizations that as...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/28/2022 03:03