The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Byrns takes seat on county board


August 8, 2018

Richard Jenkins/Daily Globe

VOTERS GATHER in the auditorium of the Memorial Building in Ironwood Tuesday to vote in the Michigan primary election. The ballot included state and local races, including a millage proposal by the Ironwood Area Schools for buses and upgrades. The measure was approved 59-41 percent.

IRONWOOD - Jim Byrns defeated Paul Grbavcich 131-107 in Tuesday's primary for the Gogebic County Board of Commissioners District 3 seat.

The two Ironwood men were both running as Democrats. Since no Republicans were on the ballot, Byrns will face no opposition on the ballot in the Nov. 6 general election for the two-year term.

It was the only contested race among candidates for the seven Gogebic County Board of Commissioners seats in Tuesday's primary election.

All of District 3 is in Ironwood. Current District 3 commissioner Jim Oliver did not seek re-election. Newcomer Joann Balduc, of B...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/08/2020 05:29