The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Wisconsin primary election set for Tuesday


August 11, 2018


[email protected]

With Michigan’s primary completed, attention now shifts across the Montreal River to Iron County, where voters will get their chance to vote in Tuesday’s Wisconsin primary.

While several parties are holding their primaries on the same day, Wisconsin voters can only participate in a single party’s primary election. This means voters must choose between the Republican or Democratic contests, or vote in a third-party primary.

On the Republican ballot, Gov. Scott Walker is facing a primary challenge from Robert Meyer as Walker seeks another term in office.

With a Republican governor in office, naturally the Democratic field for governor is more crowded as 10 candidates seek the chance to face off against Walker in November.

Andy Gronik, Matt Flynn, Tony Evers, Josh Pade, Mike McCabe, Mahlon Mitchell, Kelda Helen Roys, Paul R. Soglin, Kathleen Vinehout and Dana Wachs are all hoping to be the one to advance to the general election.

Rebecca Kleefisch is the only Republican candidate for Lieutenant Governor appearing on the ballot, as is Brad Schimel for Attorney General.

Jay Schroeder and Spencer Zimmerman are facing off in the Republican contest for Secretary of State, while Travis Hartwig and Jill Millies are vying for State Treasurer.

Kurt J. Kober and Mandela Barnes are vying to be the Democratic candidate for Lieutenant Governor.

Josh Kaul is the only Democrat appearing for Attorney General, while Doug La Follette and Arvina Martin are vying to be Secretary of State.

Three Democrats are running for state treasurer — Dawn Marie Sass, Cynthia Kaump and Sarah Godlewski.

While Rep. Sean Duffy, R-Wausau, is the lone candidate appearing on the Republican ballot for the House seat representing Wisconsin’s 7th Congressional District, five candidates are vying to the Republican Senate candidate in November.

George C. Lucia, Leah Vukmir, Griffin Jones, Kevin Nicholson and Charles Barman are all vying for the chance to face incumbent Sen. Tammy Baldwin in the general election. Baldwin is the only senate candidate on the Democratic ballot.

While Baldwin is unopposed in the her Senate race, Margaret Engebretson and Brian Ewert are running to see who will challenge Duffy in November.

James Bolen and Jeffrey Fahl are the lone Republicans on the ballot for the District 25 State Senate and District 74 State Assembly races, respectively, meaning each should advance to face Democratic incumbents Janet Bewley and Beth Meyers. Both state Sen. Meyers and state Rep. Bewley are also in uncontested primary races.

At the county level, only the Democratic primary has candidates on the ballot.

Paul W. Samardich, Diane L. Simonich and Karen M. Ransanici are all running unopposed for the offices of Iron County sheriff, coroner and circuit court clerk respectively. Simonich and Ransanici are incumbents seeking another term, while Samardich is looking to replace retiring sheriff Tony Furyk.

While not as well known as the two major parties, the Libertarian, Wisconsin Green and Constitution parties also have candidates on the ballot.

Libertarians Phillip Anderson and Patrick Baird are running unopposed in the races for governor and Lieutenant Governor, respectively, as are Green Party members Michael J. White and Tiffany Anderson.

Brad Karas is also running for Secretary of State as a Green Party candidate. Terry Larson’s bid for Attorney General is the only name on the Constitution Party’s ballot.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Aug. 14.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019