The Daily Globe - Serving Gogebic, Iron and Ontonagon Counties

Ontonagon County seats contested


November 3, 2018

Several Ontonagon County townships, the village of Ontonagon, school boards and county board feature races Tuesday.

The Ontonagon County Board of Commissioners has a write-in race for commissioners of the fifth and fourth districts. Gray Webber resigned in the fifth district for health reasons, but not until the filing date to get on the ballot had passed. Bryan Hamilton (no party affiliation) and Marlene Broemer (Democrat) have filed as write-ins for the seat.

Hamilton has been serving on the board by commission appointment.

In District 4, there is a contest between Carl Nykanen, Democrat, and Pat Kitzman, no party affiliation. Nykanen is the present board chair. The remaining board members, John Cane, District 1, Richard Bourdeau, District 2, and Robert Nousianen, District 3, are unopposed.

Four have filed for three positions on the Ontonagon Village Council. Sarah Hopper, Robert Schulz, Tony Smydra and John Hamm are on the ballot. Smydra and Hamm are incumbents.

Kenny Waldrop is unopposed as village president.

The Ontonagon Area Board of Education has seven running, including a write-in candidate, for four seats on the board. Tammy Strasser, incumbent, Latitia Hixon, William Johnson, Rebecca Bramlett, Sue Lockhart and Rebecca Pantti are on the ballot and Julie Kolpack is a write-in for the board. Kolpack is an incumbent.

The Ewen-Trout Creek Board of Education has four running for three positions. Shawn Brown and Maggi Brown are on the ballot, while Kirk Schott and Cindy Ellsworth are write-in candidates for the board.

Bergland Township has a race for supervisor. David Roberts, Republican, and Tina Dale, no party affiliation, are vying for that post.

Unopposed are Gunnard Kyllonen, mine inspector; Janis Burgess, probate judge; Rocky Windsor and Jane Rasmussen, Carp Lake Township Library Board; Gunnard Kyllonen, and John LaSota, Ontonagon Township Park Board; Wilfred Wing, Stannard Township trustee, and Karen Mayle, Stannard Township Clerk.

" "

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019